Basketball Rules Question

Posted By on May 9, 2008 | 22 comments


This is great high school basketball rules question from Ike.

If a team is losing by (say) one (1) point and the other team has the ball out of bound, can you foul the inbound passer to prevent the clock from starting? I saw this on a reason college game.

No you cannot foul the inbounder. In the NBA, (Rule No. 12, Section II Article 5) a delay-of-game shall be called for a defender crossing the boundary line prior to the ball being released on a throw-in. EXCEPTION (5): In the last two minutes of the fourth period and/or overtime period, a technical will be assessed if the defender crosses or breaks the plane of the boundary line when an offensive player is in a position to inbound and prior to the ball being released on a throw-in.

In high school and college you can give a warning to reaching across the plane, on the second infraction it is a technical foul.

Since Sacredhoops.com continues to have numerous high school basketball rules (by the way keep them coming) we have partnered with a basketball referee guru. Please welcome Michael Borgelt who will be continuing to answer all your high school basketball rules, or any other basketball rule questions you might have.

22 Comments

  1. Hi. I played highschool basketball and got a game recorded on VHS where my school lost by two points. Then 15 and 24 seconds later the winning team’s COACHES were each charged a technical foul. What they said got them two technical fouls charged against them. They gave us 4 free-throws. We lost by two points .. but we made 3 out of 4 free-throws and became the new winning team .. 2

  2. Hi. I played highschool basketball and got a game recorded on VHS where my school lost by two points. Then 15 and 24 seconds later the winning team’s COACHES were each charged a technical foul. What they said got them two technical fouls charged against them. They gave us 4 free-throws. We lost by two points .. but we made 3 out of 4 free-throws and became the new winning team .. 2

  3. There are 2 rules that I hope you can clarify:

    1) Red A is standing totally out of bounds, Blue A throws the ball at Red A and hits him. Who gets possession?

    2) Red B shoots the ball that hits the rim, he falls out of bounds, comes back in bounds catches the ball and shoots again this time successfully. No other player touches the ball does the basket count?

    Thanks,
    Rick

  4. Player out of bounds — can he come back in and be the first player to touch a ball? I was defending a fast break and knocked the ball out of the path of the offender — my momentum carried me out of bounds, but I stepped back in bounds with both feet and got to the ball before anyone else. The other team screamed that another player had to touch the ball before I could — I thought this was a football rule, and that as long as I re-established my position in-bounds I could touch the ball.

    Any help?

  5. Hi. I saw a kids basketball game where a team won by two points. Then 15 seconds later the WINNING teams coach yelled to the official >> ‘YOU SUCK!’ He was charged a technical foul which gave the team that lost TWO free-throws! Then 24 seconds after the game ended by clock … the other winning teams coach wispered to the same official. Whatever he said got the winning team ANOTHER technical foul. Those two technical fouls gave the team that lost … FOUR free-throws! The winning team went to the locker room .. while the team that lost went to the fre-throw line. The team that LOT made 3 out of 4 free-throws and became the new winners .. 2

  6. Hi. I saw a kids basketball game where a team won by two points. Then 15 seconds later the WINNING teams coach yelled to the official >> ‘YOU SUCK!’ He was charged a technical foul which gave the team that lost TWO free-throws! Then 24 seconds after the game ended by clock … the other winning teams coach wispered to the same official. Whatever he said got the winning team ANOTHER technical foul. Those two technical fouls gave the team that lost … FOUR free-throws! The winning team went to the locker room .. while the team that lost went to the fre-throw line. The team that LOT made 3 out of 4 free-throws and became the new winners .. 2

  7. Hi. I saw a kids basketball game where a team won by two points. Then 15 seconds later the WINNING teams coach yelled to the official >> ‘YOU SUCK!’ He was charged a technical foul which gave the team that lost TWO free-throws! Then 24 seconds after the game ended by clock … the other winning teams coach wispered to the same official. Whatever he said got the winning team ANOTHER technical foul. Those two technical fouls gave the team that lost … FOUR free-throws! The winning team went to the locker room .. while the team that lost went to the fre-throw line. The team that LOT made 3 out of 4 free-throws and became the new winners .. 2

  8. Hi. I saw a kids basketball game where a team won by two points. Then 15 seconds later the WINNING teams coach yelled to the official >> ‘YOU SUCK!’ He was charged a technical foul which gave the team that lost TWO free-throws! Then 24 seconds after the game ended by clock … the other winning teams coach wispered to the same official. Whatever he said got the winning team ANOTHER technical foul. Those two technical fouls gave the team that lost … FOUR free-throws! The winning team went to the locker room .. while the team that lost went to the fre-throw line. The team that LOT made 3 out of 4 free-throws and became the new winners .. 2

  9. Keep up the great work and info! The blog looks great.

  10. Can a player gain possession of the ball with both knees on the ground and then start his dribble and then stand up?

  11. Can a coach call timeout when his play has lost possession of the ball, as it is rolling out of bounds & retain possession after the timeout? The team is not in possession, if the ball is rolling out of bounds.

  12. I coach an 8th grade basketball team. During the waning moments of our game this week, one of my players was fouled and went to the line for a one and one bonus free throw. The player that commited the foul had fouled out but did not leave the game. Instead he stayed and positioned himself on top of the key. My player missed his free throw, but our center crashed the boards and went back up and scored to put us two points ahead. The ref realizing that a ineligible polayer was still on the court, blew the whistle and called off our basket. The opposing team put another player on the court, and we were given the opportunity to re-shoot the free throw. We missed again and the other team got the rebound. We fouled them, and they won the game by making one of their free throws. Did the ref make the correct call?

  13. I mainly have a question on the rules, here it is, When a free throw is shot ant the basketball balances on the top of the ring, what is the rule? Is the ball still in play, is it a dead ball, is it live and a player can jump up and get the rebound, or put it in? This happened in a resent game and everything stopped and the refs had the other team take the ball out. I would really like to know the rule on that happening, thank you in advance and I will check this site out to see if anyone knows, thanks. Arnie…….

  14. Can a defender put his hand directly in a shooter face as a defensive measure?

  15. What is the correct infraction penalty, personal foul or technical foul?

  16. Rick,

    Your first question in regards to the ball hitting another player out of bounds, the possession will obviously goto the opponent.

    The second question in regards to touching the ball after a player has stepped out of bounds. When a player is in bounds and then goes out of bounds will become an ineligible player therefore can not be the first player to touch the ball without another player touching it first. So the goal would not count since the ball did not touch another player first prior to the out of bounds player touching it.

    1) Red A is standing totally out of bounds, Blue A throws the ball at Red A and hits him. Who gets possession?

    2) Red B shoots the ball that hits the rim, he falls out of bounds, comes back in bounds catches the ball and shoots again this time successfully. No other player touches the ball does the basket count?

  17. Hi. I saw a kids basketball game where a team won by two points. Then 15 seconds later the WINNING teams coach yelled to the official >> ‘YOU SUCK!’ He was charged a technical foul which gave the team that lost TWO free-throws! Then 24 seconds after the game ended by clock … the other winning teams coach wispered to the same official. Whatever he said got the winning team ANOTHER technical foul. Those two technical fouls gave the team that lost … FOUR free-throws! The winning team went to the locker room .. while the team that lost went to the fre-throw line. The team that LOT made 3 out of 4 free-throws and became the new winners .. 2

    The game is not considered over until time has expired and ALL officials are off the floor and have left the gym. If one official is still on the floor, the game can not be finalized. Having said that, technical fouls could be still called if warranted. The first technical foul was handled correctly since a coach yelled out an inappropriate comment to an official. However, the whispering technical should not have been called since there weren’t any witnesses in regards to what the whispering was all about. This in my opinion was not an appropriate call and a technical foul should not have been called. You said that the losing team made 3 out of 4 shots therefore became the winning team. If the losing team made both technical freethrows, the game would have to be played with extra time until the officials declared the winning team.

    I hope this answered your question. Thanks.

  18. Check me if I’m wrong in my understanding in amateur basketball ruling, Does the possession goes automatically to the other side (team) if a player misses to hit the rim on his first free throw? Thanks a lot foe your info.-MCF

  19. what if the offensive player break the plane while inbounding the ball, can the defense reach for it then?

  20. Is it legal for a high school team to have a pre-game pro style light show, and turn off the lights during player introductions?

  21. if you are at half court and throw the ball down court and the ball bounces bounces one or more times can you pick up the ball with both hand and dribble it again?

  22. I coach girls varsity basketball and we use the NCAA college rules and we are a private school and play all games using the NCAA rule book. My question is in my last game in which we were on offense and one of my players was taking the ball out under are basket, she threw the ball towards the half court and the ball deflected off my guards hands and went into the back court where she picked the ball up. She was called for a back court violation in which I argued that she did not have possession of the ball nor did she establish control. The ref told me it did not matter because the ball touched her hand first. Can you help me out with the ruling? Thanks

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *